And then we are off and running for the week!  Haley has a workshop every morning this week, the kids regular sessions at the charter school, music lessons, scouts and swimming!!!

I managed to get into town on Friday with our icy back roads and all.  As soon as I hit the main road it was clear of snow and ice.  About a mile of road and our drive was pretty scary.  It wasn’t sanded and it was just solid ice.  After getting home I decided I wouldn’t leave again unless absolutely necessary.  If I slid off the road a mile from home I could walk home no problems.  Or in reality skate.  But I just didn’t think it was worth to go anywhere else yesterday.

Haley & Hunter had planned for friends to spend the night on Friday.   A brother/sister similar ages so it usually works out perfect.  I called the mom and warned her of our icy road and let her make her own decision if she wanted to drive the kids over or not.  She braved it and dropped the kids off and then on Saturday she came with her husband driving to pick the kids up.  But she did say the road was much better & sanded except of course for our short side road and our drive. 

The boys and I have done a little sanding by pulling sled loads of gravel and throwing it on the drive but it takes a lot of sled loads.  It has gotten a little better by just doing that.   In the past we have used the 4 wheeler with a trailer behind it and got it done very quickly.  However the 4 wheeler has a flat and the air compressor isn’t working.  Go figure.  I have thought Jeremy will be home to use the tractor and take care of the drive but he continues to work late every single night.  He didn’t get home until after 10 last night and left again this morning at 7:3o it will be another very long day for him.   He is hoping he can have a day off on Wednesday which would mean finally a day off after 18 days. 

Spending time at home I have done lots of baking.  I am mastering the art of baking bread I think.   I successfully made hoagie rolls on Friday and they are already gone.  I thought Jeremy might appreciate really good sandwiches on his long busy days.  I bought tons of sandwich fixins and I was going to buy these hoagie rolls and they just didn’t look that fresh or great.  Also they were kind of spendy for not looking that great and our grocery bill gets outrageos these days.    I thought I would just try to make my own hoagies and if they flopped…..well….there’s always bread.   I used the same recipe for my french bread and I divided it into 6 sections and made my rolls, let them rise, baked for 15 minutes and they turned out fantastic!

Our weather has been incredible!  Just warm and Spring like!  Yesterday we were all outside taking in the sunshine and 45 degree temps!  So nice!!!!!  Last night it was clear, the stars were out and it was WARM.  Very unusual for a clear, warm night in January.  I was  really wishing Jeremy and the boys were home so we could make a fire outside.    The boys got home just before Jeremy last night cause they went with friends to a hockey games.  A fire seemed like too much work for Haley & me.  So we watched a movie and made chocolate chip cookies instead.

Today there will be football playoffs and later a new episode of 24!  🙂  Dad might stop out if he is feeling good.  He said he had flu-ish symptoms yesterday so we’ll see for him.  Nicki and the boys might stop out too but they are all sick with colds and coughs.  We’re completely healthy here and I don’t want any of it! 

 I am going to make some homemade pizzas later.  Another thing I am mastering I think.  We started making the crust in our cast iron skillets and it makes the BEST pizza!  I pre-bake the crust a little bit and then add the toppings and bake again.  Tanner loves a thick crust so he has been very happy.  The fajita skillet pans work great for a thinner crust for me!    Making pizzas is something that takes time but is fun to do if everyone is just chillin’ and hanging out in the kitchen. 

So there is what’s been going on!  Later!  🙂